Supervisorial District Advisory Committee Update: Draft District Maps Now Available

A series of draft maps that show potential changes in the boundaries of San Mateo County’s five supervisorial districts are now available for public review and comment.

The maps represent a preliminary attempt to redraw boundaries based on comments by the San Mateo County Supervisorial District Lines Advisory Committee and input by the public to date.

Current Districts

Click on the map to view current districts

The maps are available for review at and are accompanied by demographic data regarding each draft district, reflecting factors such as income, education and ethnicity.

The maps will be discussed at the committee’s next meeting, scheduled for August 8 from 6:30 to 8:30 p.m. in the East Palo Alto City Council Chambers, 2415 University Ave., East Palo Alto.

Following the August 8 meeting, the committee will hold four additional meetings: Sept. 10, 11,  12 and Sept. 24, all from 6:30 to 8:30 p.m. See below for locations.

At each meeting, the committee will take public comment on the maps and may direct the consulting demographer to make further adjustments to the draft maps or draw additional maps.

The public is encouraged to draw and submit maps during this process at is a free, user-friendly redistricting website for the County of San Mateo. The current deadline to submit maps is September 20.

It is anticipated that at the Sept. 24 meeting the committee will recommend one or more alternatives to the full Board of Supervisors. The Board would then consider possible district boundary adjustments at its October 8 meeting with a decision on any such adjustments by its November 5 meeting.

The public is invited to send comments on the draft maps by e-mail to or by mail to: San Mateo County Hall of Justice, 400 County Center, c/o District Lines Advisory Committee, Redwood City, CA 94063.

Future meetings – all from 6:30 to 8:30 p.m.:

Sept: 10: Daly City: War Memorial Community Center, 6655 Mission St.

Sept. 11: Half Moon Bay: Cunha Intermediate School Library, 600 Church St.

Sept. 12: Millbrae: Chetcuti Room, 450 Poplar Ave.

Sept. 24: Location to be determined.

The Board of Supervisors created the nine-member District Lines Advisory Committee after voters changed the County Charter in November 2012 to provide that a supervisor may only be elected by voters within the district in which he or she lives. Under the prior system voters countywide elected all five supervisors.

With heightened interest in district-based elections, the Board of Supervisors tasked the Committee with hearing public comment, studying current and potential boundaries and recommending possible adjustments.

The committee members appointed by the Board of Supervisors are: Supervisor Adrienne J. Tissier, Committee Chair; Supervisor Warren Slocum, Committee Vice-Chair; Gonzalo “Sal” Torres, a Daly City Council Member; Laura Martinez, an East Palo Alto Council Member; and public members: Hayden Lee of Millbrae; Raymond Lee of San Mateo; Barbara Arietta of Pacifica; William Nack of Menlo Park; and Rebecca Ayson of Daly City.

Each public member resides in one of the five current districts, ensuring that all geographic areas of the county are represented. Eric Reed and Isabel Annie Loya were selected as alternates.

Questions? Contact Marshall Wilson, Communications Director, County Manager’s Office.

(650) 363-4153 office

(650) 464-2899 cell

Comments are closed.


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38 other followers