New Supervisorial District Boundaries for San Mateo County

REDWOOD CITY, Calif. – The boundaries of San Mateo County’s five supervisorial districts officially change today, a month after the Board of Supervisors approved a new map.

The new map will be in effect through the end of the decade.

The adopted map divides four cities between districts: Belmont (Districts 2 and 3), Menlo Park (Districts 3 and 4), San Bruno (Districts 1 and 5) and South San Francisco (Districts 1 and 5).

Belmont, South San Francisco and Redwood City were divided between districts in the existing map. The new map unifies Redwood City, which under the previous map had the Redwood Shores area in a separate district.

The Board of Supervisors began studying potential boundary adjustments after voters changed the County Charter in November 2012. The change requires that only voters within a district can elect a supervisor who lives in that same district to represent them.

Under the prior system voters countywide elected all five supervisors.

For a complete list of cities within each district, an online district locator and maps, please visit

2013 District Map

Comments are closed.


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 39 other followers